City Administration

Form of Government

The City of Newport operates under the State of Washington’s Mayor-Council form of government as adopted by the citizens of Newport.

Under this form of government the Mayor is elected at-large, and who serves as the city’s chief administrative officer.  The City Council is elected-at large and is responsible for the legislative function of the City such as establishing policy, passing local ordinances, approving budget appropriations, and developing an overall vision for the City.

The City of Newport has a City Administrator who provides professional management of the City’s day-to day operations.

City Council Meetings:

Newport City Council meets the first and third Monday of each month at 6 pm at City Hall, 200 S. Washington Ave., Newport WA 99156. If the first or the third Monday falls on a Holiday we will have the Council meeting on the following Tuesday at 6 pm.

Next Newport City Council Meeting – June 17, 2024, at 6 pm.

 – Current Council Agendas

 – Recent Council Meeting Minutes

 – Council Archived Minutes

Zoom meeting information:

Meeting ID: 949 1248 7044

Passcode:  508928

Dial by your location

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 929 436 2866 US (New York)

City Council

The City of Newport has a five member board elected at large and each member serves a four-year term of office.

Mayor – Keith Campbell (KCampbell@newport-wa.org)

Position #1  Kenneth Smith, ACML (KSmith@newport-wa.org)

Position #2  Elizabeth Spring (ESpring@newport-wa.org

Position #3  Jami Sears (JSears@newport-wa.org)

Position #4  Mark Zorica, Mayor Pro Tem (MZorica@newport-wa.org)

Position #5  Nathan Longly (NLongly@newport-wa.org

Finance Department:

City Clerk/Treasurer – Nickole North, MMC, CPFA

Deputy Clerk/Treasurer & Public Records Officer – Tiffany Hansen

Accounting Clerk – Theresa Schoener